All about Wahala

I just thought to see what the web holds on the word ‘wahala’ and here I have my hands full. The reason, being that an expatriate colleague of mine likes to use the word – and yes, I like the way he uses it…..he just uses it, anyhow, whether it fits into his English+Yoruba grammar or not. So here, I have my hands full:

She said she heard it on BBC and here, she writes about it. Urbandictionary helps us with a definition.
–  the wahala project
–  GSM Wahala – the movie
–  when you buy a mobile phone, you get wahala
–  A Venezuelan band going by the name wahala. Heres more info about the band. Here are they on myspace. More here.
–  now, welcoming Mr. Mag. Johannes Wahala. no harm in a name.
–  sometime ago, I was talking about wahala-walahi
–  this one looks like a book

I think these information are enough as too much information will result in wahala……plenty wahala!!

Whenever you pray, always say:

Akoba, adaba, wahala, Oloun ma je a ri!

7 thoughts on “All about Wahala

  1. I had no idea that the world ‘wahala’ was that widely used. Perhaps we should encourage Nigerians to start using the word like crazy in their workplaces abroad so that eventually it becomes a slang word and makes it into the various English, French and German dictionaries out there.

    In fact, we don’t wahala even need wahala to use it wahala in the most appropriate wahala context wahala – we could wahala just drop it in wahala whenever we wahala felt like it. Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala! Wahala!

    (at this junction, men in white coats appear and drag Atala Wahala Wahala off to a padded cell.)

  2. hehehe, and yes, if Nigerians could use the word until it becomes a slang, it will loose its effect, and there’ll be no more Wahala.

  3. This blog cracked me up! Although I rarely use the word alot, I overkill ‘Oya!” Even at work where I’m namely the only black face, English people now know what that word means!

Leave a Reply

